Skip to content

Raspberry-Ricotta Cake

March 1, 2015

Bon Appetit_Raspberry Ricotta Cake

I had basically given up on this blog. Life has been busy since I moved to San Francisco almost a year ago, and while I’ve continued to cook and bake to my heart’s content, I had completely deprioritized posting any of the deliciousness here. Then I came home from work yesterday, and the outlet that powers my TV and internet wasn’t working. We can all agree this was truly horrible timing given that House of Cards Season 3 had just been released.

I woke up this morning and walked down the block to grab a cup of coffee and walk the pup, then came home and started flipping through the March issue of Bon Appétit magazine. Now I think it’s important to note here, that when it comes to Bon Appétit, I’m more than a bit of a fangirl. Not only do I follow the magazine’s official Instagram handle (@bonappetitmag), I also lurk on all their staff. I’d like to say I’m embarrassed, but really….I’m not.

So back to this morning. I’m flipping through the magazine (which I have to say is AMAZING this month), and I stumble upon a recipe for a Raspberry-Ricotta Cake. It looked so simple and delicious, and without internet or TV at my disposal, it seemed like a great day for a baking project. I walked over to Whole Foods to grab a few ingredients, and in a little over an hour, I had this beautiful raspberry-specked cake ready to eat.

IMG_8353

As I dipped my fork in to take my first bite of the cake (spongey with a soft crumb!) I scrolled through the pictures I had taken on my iPhone, deciding which one to post to Instagram. I posted the picture, and deciding “why not,” tagged @bonappetitmag and its Editor-in-Chief Adam Rapoport in the image.

IMG_8351

I continued relishing the taste of the cake while watching the first episode of House of Cards, as a few “likes” started popping up on my screen. And then. THE MOST EXCITING THING EVER. Adam Rapoport COMMENTED ON MY PICTURE. Now i realize to most people, he may not be a household name. But in my world, he’s right up there with Taylor Swift and Chris Harrison under the category of “OMG I LOVE YOU CAN WE BE BEST FRIENDS??!!!”

IMG_8354

So this post goes out to my new BFF Adam Rapoport. Your comment just made my day…month….year? TBD. But I’m pretty psyched right now.

Raspberry-Ricotta Cake (serves 8) 

Recipe courtesy of Bon Appétit

  • nonstick vegetable oil spray
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries or blackberries, divided (I used fresh raspberries because they were on sale at Whole Foods)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9-inch diameter cake pan with parchment paper and lightly coat with nonstick spray. Whisk flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

Whisk eggs, ricotta, and vanilla in a medium bowl until smooth; fold into dry ingredients just until blended. Then fold in butter, followed by 3/4 cup raspberries. Be careful to fold the berries in gently so you don’t end up with crushed raspberries. Scrape batter into prepared pan and scatter remaining 1/4 cup raspberries over top.

Bake cake unit golden brown and a tester inserted into the center comes out clean, 50-60 mins. Let cool at least 20 minutes before removing from the pan.

According to the lovely people at Bon Appétit, you can make this recipe up to two days ahead, and store tightly wrapped at room temperature.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

