Skip to content

“I live here!”… and Peach Cobbler

July 2, 2014
Sunset on Baker Beach
Most of the world has probably given up on this blog. I pretty much had. My life changed a lot over the past four months, and I thought to myself: “Do you really want to keep doing this?” But then I made this peach cobbler. And it was so good. And so easy. And I thought— why not?
Peach Cobbler
To fill you in on the last six months….Back in January I decided I was ready to make a move. I loved Boston, but it was a great time for me to make a change personally and professionally, so I started hunting for new jobs in other cities. At the end of February, I was offered a position at an ad agency in San Francisco and within three weeks, I was packing up my South Boston apartment and driving west with Rugby in tow.

Rugby and I with the Golden Gate
I never saw myself as much of a Cali girl, but my first few months here have been full of adventures. The people here are so open and welcoming. Everyone is constantly making new friends, planning activities, and getting out of the city to go wine tasting, hiking, or any of the other million things you can do in the Bay Area.  And everywhere you look, whether in the city or outside, the scenery is beautiful. I wanted to share a gallery of my favorite images since moving out here on this post, and it has taken me a long time to figure out which those are.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few of these images are from last weekend when some friends and I got together for a last minute grill session on Baker Beach at sunset. I threw together this peach cobbler to bring along and it got rave reviews. With the 4th of July upon us, I figured it was worth sharing out in case anyone needed inspiration for the long weekend.
Tomorrow I’ll be headed out of town to Tahoe where a group of friends (many of them new!) are renting a house for the 4th. I imagine there will be lots of BBQing, floating the Truckee river, and general merriment. Happy 4th of July!
Southern Peach Cobbler
Fresh Southern Peach Cobbler via AllRecipes.com
Ingredients:
  • 8 fresh peaches, peeled, pitted and sliced into thin wedges
  • 1/2 cup white sugar + 2 tablespoons (divided)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (divided)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons unsalted butter, chilled and cut into small cubes
  • 1/4 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. In a large bowl, combine the peaches, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, lemon juice, and cornstarch. Toss to coat evenly then pour into a 2 quart baking dish. Bake in the oven for 10 minutes.

While the peaches bake, combine flour, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 brown sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using a pastry blender or fork, blend in butter until mixture resembles a coarse meal. Stir in the hot water a little at a time until just combined. Be careful not to add too much.

Remove the peaches from the oven and drop spoonfuls of topping over them. Spread with your fingers leaving areas where peaches just peek through. Combine remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon. Sprinkle mixture over top. Bake until the topping golden and the peaches are bubbly, about 30 minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature with a scoop of good vanilla ice cream.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

