Skip to content

Salted Fudge Brownies

July 29, 2012

Every Sunday around 3pm, I get a little bit depressed. Knowing that the weekend is over and there are 5 days of work between me and freedom makes me sad. Don’t get me wrong. I love my job. But sitting at my desk on a beautiful day overlooking the Boston Harbor and seeing all the sailboats and tourists enjoying the city while I’m stuck at work….well it’s just not fair!

And while Sunday Funday might be a short term fix– I have tried that therapy enough times to know that it just makes the pain of Mondays so much worse. So the new therapy I’m going to try? Delicious baked goods. I’ll just eat my feelings. I’ve heard that’s healthy.

Today’s prescription? My favorite brownies. I’ve tried my fair share of brownies, and nothing has these beat. They are very dense and super fudge-y, and let’s be honest, is there anything better than the combination of salt and chocolate? Not convinced? How about the fact that you can make these brownies in ONE BOWL. Did someone say easy clean up?? So today I treated myself to a new painting for my bedroom (to satisfy my new obsession with lobster buoys) and some fresh flowers from the SOWA Open Market, indulging in googling Ryan Lochte shirtless pics, and am topping off the afternoon with a couple chewy, chocolatey brownies. No sad faces here!

Salted Fudge Brownies (recipe courtesy of Food and Wine)

  • 1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/4 cup + 2 T unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I like mine extra salty, so I use a little bit more)

Preheat oven to 350°. Line a 9-inch square baking pan with aluminum foil, letting the excess hang over the edges. Lightly butter the foil.

Melt butter and chocolate on low heat on the stovetop in a saucepan or in the microwave in a microwave-safe bowl. Remove from heat or microwave. One at a time, whisk in cocoa, sugar, eggs, vanilla, and flour. Pour into prepared pan. Smooth the top of the batter. Sprinkle salt over top of batter. Using a butter knife, swirl salt into brownie batter.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, until edges are set and center is a bit soft. A toothpick inserted in the center should come out with a little batter coating it.

Cool at room temperature for an hour. Then, cool in refrigerator for an hour or until firm. Remove from pan and foil. Serve at room temperature.

Brownies can be refrigerated for 3 days or frozen for a month.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 2:54 am

    Yes! This is my FAVORITE brownie recipe and I have made it several times since you shared it with me more than a year ago. Usually I can’t wait for them to cool all that time — and you had warned me about eating them straight out of the pan …

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet and Sour Holiday Brisket | Baking Boy Bait

Leave a Reply

